About oranges, crimes, Narnia and punishment


jefe-gritando

– “Everybody to the Rec Room, NOW!”

Apart from being a blogger and a counselor I also work part time in a grocery store. This supermarket is kind of like a national chain of supermarkets. I work part time so it doesn’t interfere too much with my life. They pay well, but they exploit you like an asian in a chinese sweat shop, like an african digging for blood diamonds, like a…. well, you get the hint.

 “OK, I need your attention now.”

The boss man is too strict, and he does not tolerate no ruckus or disorder. That night he called us and made make a line, after we closed the doors. This was a serious misconduct, that deserved to be punished swiftly. Someone had stolen fruits from the fruit stand, and they left the evidence in the bathroom when everything was closed.

actores-empleado-mes

 “I found a lot of orange peels in the bathroom, AND I noticed that there are oranges missing in the stand. This happened after the store was closed, so one of you might’ve been”

Thus, he began the classic sermon of the good collaborator, the employee of the month, the prestige of the company we work for. He gave the opportunity  for the scoundrel to ‘fess up’. No one spoke. I thought he was exaggerating a little – but ultimately I was tired and didn’t want to make a bigger deal – The Chief said that we had until the shift change to come and confess personally ” … or nobody is getting out of here“.

We went back to work with dull laughs. For a moment I started wondering if they would start paying us with oranges, may be. I went back to what I was doing. The thing is almost at the end of our shift we had almost nothing to do, but we had to keep working because the boss man “…didn’t pay us to see us talk…”

I started moving boxes of books (huge boxes by the way) towards the book stand. I was bored so I was doing it slow. One of the book of boxes read “The Chronicles of Narnia”. I knew it was going to be a heavy one. I mustered all the strength I could and lifted it up rather quickly, instead of books, out came oranges.

Super_FUUU_Face

I was so scared…. What did this mean? It was almost like a corpse! I quickly looked around, but no one was watching.  My first impulse was to hide the evidence! But, where if the box is already broken? Oh I thought behind the books! Surely nobody is going to notice the difference right?

Tomorrow when the client comes and picks up a book and the oranges come jumping, should I tell my boss? nah….

After all it wasn’t necessary. The oranges were rolling like blood throughout the floor. One of them rolled to the feet of my boss. I was kind of nervous  when he looked at me, I just stared back and him and blurted out “… they are from Narnia!” and grinned nervously.

The problem was resolved. A workmate made an erroneous inventory. Because he was lazy he didn’t want to inventory the oranges so he put them in the book boxes, so that the person who was working on the books, would have to do his job for him. that was unforgivable. That same guy, because he was hungry, he went to the bathroom and started downing oranges  like there was no tomorrow.  It was unforgivable and he was sanctioned.

OK actually I don’t work or ever worked at a grocery store. This was just an exercise for me to let you know that not everything has a point  🙂

One thought on “About oranges, crimes, Narnia and punishment

Leave a Reply

